Upcoming Changes To Travefy’s Free Personal Itinerary Service

Comments

33 comments

  • Travefy Support

    On behalf of the entire Travefy team - We greatly appreciate all of our Travefy Personal users and have worked diligently to ensure continued access to any active trips as we sunset the Travefy Personal product.

    We want your thoughts and feedback and encourage you to leave your comments here, which will be reviewed by our team.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Michele Kreke

    I am highly disappointed to hear this. As a mom of a large family, your product was the only one that could meet my needs; when traveling with 5+ kids it's essential to build travel time into iteneraries, and your product was the only one that let me easily do that, and also let me drag and drop to change activity time or order as our plans changed on the fly due to kids needs. Am I reading correctly that we will still be able to access existing and create new trip on the website, we just won't be able to share them with anyone?

    2
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Brian Breslin

    I'm not a travel professional but love using your solution with my friends. Any interest in making a lower tier version that forgoes the white-labeling/branding? 

    2
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Thank you so much for your thoughts, Michelle. We appreciate your candid feedback and apologize for the impact of this change on the creation of future trips for your family. Please know this is a change our own team has not taken lightly and I will absolutely share your helpful feedback. 

    To answer your question, you will be able to view and share trips that you have created before August 1, 2019. You will have access to view those trips using the "Our Itinerary Viewer" app until Dec. 31, 2019 as well. However, you will still have access to edit them online after Dec. 31, 2019 without the mobile app. I hope that makes sense! Let us know if you have any other questions at all. 

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Brian - Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it! I will absolutely share your helpful feedback on alternative packages with our team. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Michelle Rush

    Dear Travefy,

     
    I am truly devastated about your changes and not supporting Mum & Dad travellers anymore.  The cost of Travefy Professional is just not affordable to people who go on  infrequent trips and want to share with their family.  The cost of $360US annually ,is more than the cost of travel insurance.
     
    Would it be possible to put a lower level /tier within Travefy Professional, to cater for users such as myself?  I don't need most of the features in Travefy Professional.  I really  only use Travefy  as it is - sharing with my family.  I was disappointed last year when you removed the ability to create a pdf.  That is a feature I use as well.
     
    To make things worse you are going to take the app out of the App store at the end of the year.  That means if you have a new device without a backup, it's not possible to get the app anymore.  I was extra upset when I read this.
     
    I am desperately trying to find another platform that I can use, but I just love Travefy and am very reluctant to use anything else.  Other paid platforms seem to be around $30US per year.  This is a reasonable and affordable price for non-professional users.
     
    Please, please can you come up with a low cost option for users like myself.
    2
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Michelle, 

    We appreciate the honest feedback and thank you for sharing it with us here. Currently, we only support one subscription plan but we have shared this idea of a lower tier plan with our team to review and we will be sure to keep you informed if any new plans are created. 

    In parallel, if helpful, below are a few free travel planners we're aware of if you wanted to check those out for an alternative to Travefy:

    https://www.planapple.com/
    https://www.tripit.com/web
    https://www.inspirock.com/

    Please don't hesitate to reach out with any additional questions or concerns. We're always here to help and we completely understand the frustration this change causes.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Luke Gilligan

    I am in the middle of planning a trip for May next year and wanted to confirm after 1 Aug I will still be able to login via the website, view my trip, edit my trip, add places, attractions, accommodations, notes, transport etc and save my plans?

    I won't be able to share my trip with anyone else or print it to PDF.

    Is this correct?

    Will I be able to add new trips after 1 Aug?

     

    Thanks

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Jessica Anderson

    I am a little unclear as to how the site will function after Aug. 1. 

    Will we still be able to create new trips without a paid subscription?

    Is the only change to the free feature that it will no longer be shareable or printable in PDF?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Luke! To clarify, since you have already created your trip you will still be able to edit and view it in your account after 1 August, 2019. After 1 Aug you will be able to log into your account and still edit it and view. If you create any trips after 1 Aug, you will need to purchase a Travefy subscription. If you have any other questions feel free to ask them here or email us directly at Professional@Travefy.com

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Jessica,

    Sorry for the confusions! After August 1, 2019, you will need to purchase a subscription in order to create/share/send new trips that you create after this date. After August 1st, you will still be able to view and edit any trips created before, however, printing as a PDF will not be an option. If you do need to print a PDF, I would recommend doing that before August 1, 2019 or if it's shortly after the update, just let us know at Professional@Travefy.com and we can help retrieve the PDF for you. 

    I hope this all makes sense! Let us know if you have any other questions at all. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Robert Poppell

    I'm hoping that at some point you will reintroduce a pricing option that's accessible for non-professional travelers. I can't justify paying a recurring monthly charge of $30+ for something i'll use for 2-3 trips per year. 

    I understand you're a business trying to make money and that you've shifted your strategy away from the consumer market. But understand that this is a risky move that will alienate your most loyal users.

    I'll be looking to switch to one of your competitors after August 1st. Best of luck!

     

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Robert,

    Thanks for your note and feedback on this. I've shared with our team the interest in offering another plan for personal travelers specifically and if there are any updates in this we will definitely reach out to you. 

    We are so sorry again for these upcoming changes and how they have affected your itinerary and travel planning. If there's anything that we can help answer or if you have any additional feedback, please don't hesitate to reach out to us here or at professional@travefy.com

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Jessica

    Hi Travefy,

    Like everyone else, I am deeply disappointed about this news. I'm not  a travel professional but I like how I can put all the information that I need regarding my travel in one place (I'm an organizer freak, guilty as charge). I have been trying to find an alternative since I heard the news and haven't found one. I've tried all the three alternatives that you suggested above (plus others) but they are still not as good as Travefy :'( If anyone ever find an alternative, please do let me know.

    I am still a bit unclear of what we can and cannot access after August 1. Per the article above:

    "You will also be able to build new trips that are visible only to you. 

    * The “Our Itinerary Viewer” app will be removed from the App Store on 12/31/2019."

    My questions are:
    1. does it mean that we cannot "create a new trip" but we can edit existing trips that is only visible to me after Aug 1, 2019 (even after Dec 31, 2019)? 

    2. Will there be an alternative to the "Our Itinerary Viewer" after Dec 31, 2019? Or does it mean that we can only access the itineraries on a web-base basis?

    I also agree with everyone's suggestions above to provide a subscription alternative for personal accounts. Hopefully this will be something that your team will consider seriously :)

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Jessica,

    Thanks for your note and our deepest apologies for how this change will impact your account. Sorry for the confusions on our article above. I will answer your questions below:

    1. That is correct, you are able to edit any trips that you created before August 1, 2019. You will not be able to view those trips in the Our Itinerary Viewer app after Dec 31, 2019, though. 

    2. You can always use the Trip Plans mobile app, which is part of the Travefy Pro platform if you choose to subscribe. 

    I hope that helps! Let us know if you have any follow up questions or if easier, email us directly at Professional@Travefy.com.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Stephen Lin

    I have been using Travefy for the last few years and it was one of the best tools in my pocket when it came to planning trips. It's disappointing to see you guys throw these customers to the wayside. 

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Stephen,

    Thanks for your honest feedback and we're so sorry for these changes as it's not something we've taken easy as a team. To be completely transparent, we have found the most impact and success in our Travefy Pro platform for travel professionals so we will continue to support and maintain this product only. Sorry again for these changes and any inconvenience that is caused for your itinerary building needs. If you have any questions or additional feedback, feel free to send us an email any time at professional@travefy.com

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Matt Richards

    I don't understand why you would abandon such a wide swath of loyal customers. Many of us would have paid a reasonable price for status quo of a personal product, yet you decide to cater to only professionals with an unreasonable price tag? I hate it when I get abandoned by a software company....

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Matt,

    Thanks for your note and our deepest apologies for the impact these changes will have on your itinerary building needs. In all transparency, as our Travefy Professional platform has grown, we no longer able to sustainably support our free products. I can also share your feedback on alternate packages with our team! Let us know if you have any further questions or concerns. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Nina Hofmann

    So it's past August 1st now, and I'm trying to access a previously created plan through the website. However when I try to open the link I had bookmarked, I only get a banner that wants me to start the free 10 day trial, or logs me out.

    Above you wrote:

    1. That is correct, you are able to edit any trips that you created before August 1, 2019. You will not be able to view those trips in the Our Itinerary Viewer app after Dec 31, 2019, though. 

    So how is editing possible? Only for 10 days by using the free trial?

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Nina!

    Apologies for the confusions with that. You will want to start your free 10-day trial to gain access to your trip(s) first. Here's how: 

    • When you log into your Travefy account, you will see a large window open explaining these changes. Click "Convert My Account" in the lower right-hand corner, to convert your account to a 10-Day Free Trial of Travefy's professional product. (You do not need to put in a credit card or pay anything)
    • Once your account is in a Free Trial, you can either download a PDF (instructions) of that itinerary or access it via the "Our Itinerary Viewer" mobile app (iOS linkAndroid Link). During your 10-Day Free Trial, you'll also be able to make edits to any existing itineraries. 
    • If you've accessed it via the mobile app during your Trial, you will still be able view that itinerary on the app even after your trial ends.

    When your trial ends you can still log into your account and view and edit your trip(s) in there, you just won't be able to send or share the trip unless your account is active in a paid subscription. 

    For any additional assistance or questions, feel free to email us directly at professional@travefy.com

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Michelle Rush

    Dear Travefy,

    Will the 'non-professional' users have indefinite access to their accounts if they don't chose a paid subscription?  In a few years time, I might want to access one of my earlier trips and view details of it.  Will this be possible or will you only allow us to have out accounts for a short time-frame?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Michelle!

    We won't remove or delete any trips or accounts from Travefy Personal. That way, if you don't choose to purchase a subscription you will still be able to log into your account and view any trips that you had previously created. We don't currently have any plans or a timeline on removing these accounts either. I hope that helps to answer your question! If not, let us know and feel free to reach us directly at Professional@Travefy.com

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Jimmy G

    For those non-professional travelers, I am building a free travel planning tool and would like to invite you all to try it out when it launches.

    Basically, you enter your destination, duration of travel, and a budget (optional), and it will generate a list of suggested popular activities, events, and restaurants which you can drag-and-drop into your itinerary. Or you can just enter custom events into your itinerary as well.

    You can also browse other users' past itineraries using a "feed" to find ideas and share your own itinerary too. For more information, please check it out here: https://blueplanit.co

    2
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Michelle Rush

    Dear Travefy,

    Adding to my above message - so more importantly, we'll also be able to edit existing trips as well as view them for years to come?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Michelle,

    In the future, if you would like to login and view your trips, even if you aren't in a paid subscription. If there is any important information in your account we would recommend downloading the PDF of that trip while your account is still in a trial. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Michelle Rush

    Dear Travefy

    I'm confused.  You said previously that after the 12 day trial, if you don't purchase a subscription then:

    • " since you have already created your trip you will still be able to edit and view it in your account after 1 August, 2019. After 1 Aug you will be able to log into your account and still edit it and view.
    • "You will also be able to build new trips that are visible only to you"

    Is this no longer the case?  Are you taking away the ability to edit or creat new trips after the conclusion of the 12 day trial?

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Michelle,

    That is correct that you can still log into your account and view and edit trip that you created and also create new ones after your trial ends. I took a look at your account but it doesn't look like you have converted your account yet so you won't have access until you convert. To do so, simply follow the below steps below:

    • When you log into your Travefy account, you will see a large window open explaining these changes. Click "Convert My Account" in the lower right-hand corner, to convert your account to a 10-Day Free Trial of Travefy's professional product. (You do not need to put in a credit card or pay anything)
    • Once your account is in a Free Trial, you can either download a PDF (instructions) of that itinerary or access it via the "Our Itinerary Viewer" mobile app (iOS linkAndroid Link). During your 10-Day Free Trial, you'll also be able to made edits to any existing itineraries. 
    • If you've accessed it via the mobile app during your Trial, you will still be able view that itinerary on the app even after your trial ends.

    I hope that helps and please know our team is always here to help.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Ben S

    Dear Travefy,

    I woke up this morning, thinking 'Oh, lets start planning our holiday.' I was greeted with a message that told me you were discontinuing personal plans. I cannot believe why you did this, this was such a helpful tool, and I wanted to use it for a lot of holidays. I have looked everywhere all over the internet, and all the alternatives are not as good as travefy. Is there any chance of a basic, free version in the future that is not professional, as £360 a year is way too much for 1 or 2 holidays a year. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Travefy Support

    Hi Ben,

    Thanks so much for your feedback and for your sharing your concerns! Firstly, I want to thank you for being a user of Travefy's Free Personal service. 

    To give a bit of background, Travefy has maintained a free version for personal use and Professional version for travel agents and tour operators for close to five years now. Unfortunately, as a business, Travefy can no longer sustain the costs of maintaining a free service.

    Additionally, Travefy's core business is providing software services and tools for travel professionals and Travefy does not have plans to expand that focus to creating paid services/tools for consumers and personal travelers.

    Having said that, we DO NOT want this transition to affect any of your upcoming trips. If you have any upcoming trips in the next 1-2 months that you have planned on Travefy please let us know the dates of those trips. We are happy to extend your trial to ensure there is no interruption to access to your itineraries during your travel. You can email us directly at professional@travefy.com

    Thanks again for your note and we appreciate your feedback which I'll absolutely share with the team. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.